The Eisenhower Foundation

National Media Forum On Poverty, Inequality and Race: Forty Years After the Kerner Commission

AGENDA

8:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. Tuesday, December 12, 2006 The State Room The Mayflower Hotel 1127 Connecticut Ave, N.W. Washington, DC 2003

AGENDA

THE EISENHOWER FOUNDATION National Media Forum on Poverty, Inequality and Race: Forty Years After the Kerner Commission

Tuesday, December 12, 2006 The State Room The Mayflower Hotel 1127 Connecticut Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20036

FRAMING THE GOALS OF THE FORUM

8:30am – 9:00am

Fred Harris Chair

The Eisenhower Foundation

Yvonne Scruggs-Leftwich

Vice Chair

The Eisenhower Foundation

Alan Curtis

President and CEO

The Eisenhower Foundation

Leila McDowell

Director of Communications The Eisenhower Foundation

PANEL 1

9:00am - 11:00am

Brief Presentations Followed By Open Discussion

Ray Suarez

Senior Correspondent The NewsHour

Colbert King

Deputy Editorial Page Editor

The Washington Post

Terence Smith

Media Correspondent and Senior Producer

The NewsHour

Gregory Stanford

Editorial Writer and Columnist Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

Gary Younge Columnist

New York Correspondent

The Guardian

Moderator: Facilitators:

Fred Harris Leila McDowell

Alan Curtis

PANEL 2

11:00am - 1:15pm

Brief Presentations Followed By Open Discussion

PANEL 3 1:15pm – 3:30pm

Brief Presentations Followed By Open Discussion Martin Gilens

Associate Professor of Politics

Princeton University

Christy Hardin Smith

Blogger

firedoglake.com

Gregory Kane

Columnist

The Baltimore Sun

Steven Rendall

Senior Analyst

FAIR (Fairness & Accuracy in Reporting)

Eugene Robinson

Columnist

The Washington Post

DeWayne Wickham

Columnist USA Today

Moderator: Fred Harris Facilitators: Leila McDowell

Alan Curtis

Shaila Dewan

National Correspondent The New York Times

Michael Fletcher

White House Correspondent

The Washington Post

Amy Goodman

Host and Producer

Democracy Now!

Harold Meyerson

Editor-at-Large

The American Prospect

Jay Rosen

Professor

New York University, Department of Journalism

Laura Washington

Ida B. Wells-Barnett University Professor

DePaul University

Moderator: Yvonne Scruggs-Leftwich

Facilitators: Leila McDowell

Alan Curtis

PANEL 4

3:30pm - 5:45pm

Brief Presentations Followed

By Open Discussion

Celinda Lake President

Lake Research Partners

Ellis Cose

Contributing Editor

Newsweek

Felix Gutierrez

Professor of Journalism and Communication

Annenberg School

University of Southern California

Kevin Merida Associate Editor The Washington Post

Barbara A. Reynolds Journalist and Author Former Columnist The Detroit Free Press

Rochelle Stanfield Freelance Journalist Former Correspondent The National Journal

Moderator: Yvonne Scruggs-Leftwich

Facilitators: Leila McDowell

Alan Curtis

WRAP UP AND FUTURE STRATEGY

5:45pm - 6:00pm

Leila McDowell

Director of Communications The Eisenhower Foundation

RECEPTION

6:00pm - 7:30pm

The East Room